Yuva Puraskar for Palakkad Ramprasad, Bharat Sundar & Amith A Nadig

By Special Correspondent
Chennai: 27-11-2022 11:08PM
Last Updated: 27-11-2022 11:09PM

Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama and the apex body of the performing arts in the country, has selected 102 (Including three joint awards) artists who have made a mark as young talents in their respective fields of the performing arts for the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar by clearing the backlog for the years 2019, 2020 and  2021.

 The Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar, given to artists below the age of 40 years, was introduced in 2006 with the objective of identifying and encouraging outstanding young talents in diverse fields of performing arts and giving them national recognition early in their life so that they may work with greater commitment and dedication in their chosen fields.

The Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar carries a purse of Rs. 25,000. The Yuva Puraskar will be presented at a special ceremony by the Chairman, Sangeet Natak Akademi.

The awardees for 2019 include among others Palakkad Ramprasad (Carnatic vocal), L. Ramakrishnan (Violin), Satish Krishnamurthy  (Mridangam) and B. S. Arun Kumar (Contemporary Music).

The awardees for 2020 include among others Bharat Sundar (Carnatic Vocal), Amith A Nadig (Flute) and V Prakash Ilaiyaraja (Nagaswaram)

The awardees for 2021 include among others Vishnu Dev Namboodiri (Carnatic Vocal), G Chandrashekhar Sharma (Ghatam), Uppalapu Nagamani (Mandolin) and Anantha R Krishnan (Contemporary Music).