Follow us on
join us facebook
Yuva Puraskar Award for Shijith Nambiar & Parvathi Menon
NEW DELHI, April 24: The General Council of Sangeet Natak Akademi has selected 32 artistes who have made a mark as young talents in their respective fields of performing arts for Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar 2015.

Honour for Nisha Rajagopalan & Kunnakudi M Balamurali Krishna
In the field of music, the eight recipients of Yuva Puraskar are: Rupesh Gawas and Brijeshwar Mukherjee for Hindustani vocal music; Anubrata Chatterjee for Hindustani instrumental music–Tabla; Smit Tiwari for Hindustani instrumental music–Sarod; Nisha Rajagopalan and Kunnakudi M Balamurali Krishna for Carnatic vocal music; R Shankaranarayanan for Carnatic instrumental music–Mridangam; and K V Gopalakrishnan for Carnatic Instrumental music–Kanjira.

In the field of dance, the eight recipients of Yuva Puraskar are: Shijith Nambiar & Parvathi Menon for Bharatanatyam, Vishal Krishna and Divya Dikshit for Kathak Dance; Kalamandalam Thulasi for Kathakali; P Bilash Singh for Manipuri Dance; Boby Chakraborty for Kuchipudi Dance; Seujpriya Borthakur for Sattriya Dance; and Shilpika Bordoloi for contemporary/experimental dance.

The Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar, given to artistes below the age of 40 years, was introduced in 2006 with the objective of identifying and encouraging outstanding young talents in diverse fields of performing arts and giving them national recognition early in their life, so that they may work with greater commitment and dedication in their chosen fields.